Pinterest Fail: Iron Cleaning

I’m wise enough to know that if something seems to good to be true then it probably is.  Especially when it comes to cleaning.  There is no magical product that instantly eliminates stains, magically vanquishes mold, and also folds your laundry for you.

However there is still a little part of me that thinks ‘well what if this is the one this that does work and I’m missing out!!!’ (albeit a very lazy part).

And so I still save all kinds of ‘home remedies’ and ‘miracle cleaning tips’ when I see them on Pinterest.  And while I have had varied success with some of them, this is a tale of one that failed.

I have this dirty iron:

unnamed

 

I bought this iron before we got married because it was cheap and I needed one.  I don’t iron that often and this one gets me through those few times when Matt needs a nice work shirt (hooray for casual offices!).  I’m not even sure what causes the gunk buildup on the plate but it hasn’t bothered me in all the years I’ve had it.

However the last two times I’ve tried to iron something the first pass has left a gunky stain on the item being pressed.  Not much is worse for this lazy-girl-who-hates-ironing than creating more work by now having to wash, dry, and iron a shirt all over again. (especially when that shirt was one you picked out for your hubby to wear to his sister’s wedding so that he would look good in family photos and now everything is ruined… yes I like to panic)

So I decided to try a tip I found on Pinterest and see what happened.  The tutorial I found was originally from Bargain Hoot and seemed very promising.  Just baking soda, water, and time should magically clean my iron.

So I made my paste using baking soda and a little water…

WP_20140819_004

 

Propped up my iron on a dish towel and spread the paste on…

WP_20140819_006

 

And let it sit for the recommended 45 minutes.

Then you were supposed to just wipe the paste off and the gunk should come with it… instead mine looked exactly the same.  I even tried scrubbing a little bit but that gunk wasn’t budging.

I decided to try another tip I had read in the comments to add vinegar for extra cleaning power…

WP_20140819_008

 

So I filled a pie tin with vinegar, dunked the baking soda-covered iron in, and left it to soak (oooh bubbles!).  By bedtime a few hours later that gunk was still stuck.   I decided to let it sit overnight just to see what would happen.

In the morning I gave the iron a good scrubbing and it still looked like this:

WP_20140820_003

 

A teeny bit of the gunk came off but not nearly enough to trust the iron on any of our clothes again.

So I’m ready to chalk this one up to a Pinterest Fail.  I’m not saying this tutorial doesn’t work, or that it won’t work for you, but it certainly wasn’t magical for me.

So now I’m on the hunt for a better cleaning tutorial.  If you have any recommendations let me know! (Matt recommended that I buy a new iron, but what fun would that be?)

 

Has anyone else tried any miracle cleaning tips that failed miserably?  Tried any that actually worked?  Do tell!

 

 

Thanks for stopping by!

Follow me!  The Stalnaker Home on  Bloglovin, Instagram, & Pinterest!

2 thoughts on “Pinterest Fail: Iron Cleaning

  1. I tried both of those remedies also, and I thought it was just ME. That I was doing something wrong. I just bought a new iron. The baking soda just left my little holes clogged up so bad that even the vinegar wouldn’t get it out.

Leave a Reply

